2004 *****

1. Whatcha See is Whatcha Get (The Dramatics)
2. Oh La De Da (The Staple Singers)
3. Lift Every Voice and Sing (Kim Weston)
4. Lying on the Truth (The Rance Allen Group)
5. Peace Be Still (The Emotions)
6. Respect Yourself (The Staple Singers)
7. Son of Shaft/Feel It (The Bar-Kays)
8. I'll Play the Blues for You (Albert King)
9. Walking the Back Streets and Crying (Little Milton)
10. Jody's Got Your Girl and Gone (Johnnie Taylor)
11. Pick Up the Pieces (Carla Thomas)
12. The Breakdown (Rufus Thomas)
13. Do the Funky Chicken (Rufus Thomas)
14. (If Loving You is Wrong) I Don't Want to Be Right (Luther Ingram)
15. Theme from Shaft (Isaac Hayes)

The best Wattstax album is also the most logical. This 2004 "Highlights" CD was released in conjunction with the restored DVD release. This CD features music from the film in the order it appears in the film. It's got all the best music in great remastered versions. It's the best way to listen to Wattstax outside of watching the film.

WATTSTAX: Hightlights from the Soundtrack on AllMusic.com