a group called

1969 ****1/2

1. Let's Get Together
2. I Don't Believe (I Believe)
3. Tell Him No
4. Who Do You Love
5. Baby, It's You
6. Last Time
7. I Just Wanna Make Love to You
8. Mojaleskey Ridge
9. Let's Spend the Night Together
10. I'll Hold Out My Hand

I'll admit it, I first became aware of Smith thanks to Quentin Tarantino's Death Proof, in which "Baby, it's You" appears. Ten years later, I found a copy of A Group Called Smith on vinyl, and I picked it up. It's an amazing album that showcases some true talents, especially the haunting vocals by Gayle McCormick. It's sad that this group isn't more well-known. They only made one more album after this, and Gayle McCormick went on to release three solo albums. A Group Called Smith consists of mostly covers, but Smith makes them all their own, every track being a complete joy to listen to.