2016 *****

1. 1999 (Single Edit)
2. Little Red Corvette (Single Edit)
3. When Doves Cry (Single Edit)
4. Let's Go Crazy (Single Edit)
5. Raspberry Beret
6. I Wanna Be Your Lover (Single Edit)
7. Soft and Wet (Single Edit)
8. Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad?
9. Uptown (Single Edit)
10. When You Were Mine
11. Head
12. Gotta Stop (Messin' About)
13. Controversy (Single Edit)
14. Let's Work (Single Edit)
15. Delirious (Single Edit)
16. I Would Die 4 U (Single Edit)
17. Take Me With U (Single Edit)
18. Paisley Park
19. Pop Life
20. Purple Rain
21. Kiss
22. Sign 'O' the Times (Single Edit)
23. Alphabet St. (Single Edit)
24. Batdance (Single Edit)
25. Thieves in the Temple
26. Cream
27. Mountains
28. Girls & Boys (Single Edit)
29. If I Was Your Girlfriend (Single Edit)
30. U Got the Look
31. I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man (Single Edit)
32. Glam Slam (Single Edit)
33. Moonbeam Levels
34. Diamonds and Pearls (Single Edit)
35. Gett Off (Remix)
36. Sexy MF
37. My Name is Prince
38. 7
39. Peach
40. Nothing Compares 2 U (Live Version ft. Rosie Gaines)

2001's The Very Best of Prince was a poorly designed album that stuck "Purple Rain" in a very odd place. 4Ever is a greatest hits compilation that expands upon The Very Best of Prince, making a compilation that flows very well from one track to the next. While it mostly uses single versions of songs, I'm pleased that it features the full version of "Purple Rain," as well as the un-edited version of "Sexy MF," which came as a very pleasant surprise. Being released by Warner Bros., it only covers the Warner Bros. years from the late '70s to the early '90s, but it's still a must-own for any Prince fan, no matter how hardcore or casual. This is one purchase you won't regret.

4EVER on